Articles / MacKinnon awarded goal after net becomes dislodged in wild sequence

MacKinnon awarded goal after net becomes dislodged in wild sequence

S
Sportsnet
Nov 1, 2025 6:02 PM

Summary: This is a summary of an article originally published by Sportsnet. Read the full original article here →

In an incredible moment during a recent game, Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche found himself awarded a goal in a rather unusual fashion. As play developed, the puck slipped into the net just as it became dislodged from its moorings, leading to a controversial yet thrilling sequence. The on-ice officials convened to discuss the play, weighing the bizarre circumstances under which the goal occurred.

The video replay showcased the chaos that unfolded on the ice as players from both teams reacted. MacKinnon, known for his speed and skill, capitalized on the unexpected opportunity, immediately fostering excitement among Avalanche fans. The sequence raised questions about the rules governing goals scored under such odd conditions, and many were left debating the merits of the decision.

This event not only highlighted MacKinnon’s ability to seize opportunities but also underscored the complexities of officiating in the NHL. As the Avalanche continue their quest for victory, moments like these remind fans of the unpredictable nature of hockey, where even the most peculiar circumstances can lead to thrilling outcomes. The Avalanche are looking to build on this momentum as the season unfolds, and MacKinnon's goal will surely be discussed in the highlights for some time to come.

Players Mentioned